An honest dialogue about love, life, and everything in-between...

Monday, January 28, 2008

Erykah Returns

1:29 PM |

...still bringing her Baduisms

(Courtsey of

That's the artwork for the cover of Ms. Badu's 4th studio album. Erykah's follow up to 2003's World Wide Underground is finally making its approach. Her new album entitled "New AmErykah Part One (4th War)" is slated to be released February 26 of this year. (Let's hope this one makes it to the shelf unlike Maxwell's album that was rumored to drop LAST February. Maxwell...where are you?). If you missed it, she recently made an appearance on the CW's show Girlfriends where she performed a song written specifically for the show called "Vibrate On". View a clip from the show here. According to the RnB Music Blog, the track lists is as followed:

1. “Amerykahn Promise”
2. “The Healer / Hip-Hop”
3. “Me”
4. “My People”
5. “Soldier”
6. “The Cell”
7. “Twinkle”
8. “Master Teacher”
9. “That Hump”
10. “Telephone”
11. “Honey” (Bonus)

I've been listening to her track "Honey" for a minute now, but my sister put me on to this video today. Gotta pay attention, there are references in this all over the place. References to old albums, and some with specific messages/opinions stated on each. So make it big and take a look. Also, there is one specific part in here that will look EXTREMELY familiar. Opinions?

Like Erykah says, support your local music store and get her album February 26.


Lawrenorder said...

9th Wonder hit the beat on this one.